HomeWorld NewsD&D SpecialHow many concentration check 5e are in dnd magic missile?

How many concentration check 5e are in dnd magic missile?

Can Magic Missile cause multiple concentration checks?

Magic Missile 5e only needs one concentration check because the spell is the only source of damage. The reason that the darts “strike simultaneously” reinforces this narrative. Jeremy Crawford noted that the Magic Missile spell causes a separate concentration roll by a spell caster for each hit. (Of note, this is different than Mike Mearls’ answer, which viewed a Magic Missile as one source of harm.

It depends upon whether you believe “Whenever one takes damage” means “Whenever one takes damage for every source of harm” or “Whenever one takes damage for every different time damage happens.”

There has not been clear guidance given I can find. That ends up coming down to the same question as “would striking somebody at 0 hit points with an total Magic Missile spell automatically kill them” And the analysis from my answer there.

What does Concentration check 5e do to Magic missile?

The only precedent we have is that Concentration checks in 5e especially check for each source of harm (as “Should you take harm from several sources” is explicitly known in the Concentration rules). However, other principles that look for damage (including the one that you inquire about) do not make clear if they activate for each source as well (as a Magic Missile contains three references) or if they trigger for every time (like a Magic Missile’s damage explicitly happens simultaneously).

It’s about if you have a look at the concentration rule as being different from the “normal” situation (since it calls out resources explicitly and other principles do not) or whether you consider it to be the standard case as to how to take care of damage triggers is spelled out more specifically there. It needs to be used as a precedent for places that it’s not spelled out.

As with the rules, studying and interpreting them is up to a DM. If you’re the DM, go with whatever interpretation you believe is correct or leads to the most enjoyable gameplay, and ensure your players understand how your game will work. At the end of the day, while it may be acceptable if the rules answered all our queries similar to this one, the principles are only guidelines for having fun with your group. They’re there to serve you rather than the other way around.

Details

Concentration Check 5e: Whenever you take damage as you focus on a spell, you must make a Constitution saving throw to maintain your concentration. The DC equals ten or half of the damage you require, whichever number is higher. Suppose you take damage from multiple sources, including an arrow and a dragon’s breath. In that case, you make a separate saving throw for every head of harm.

Let’s say you take a significant amount of damage from one attack. What’s the theoretical maximum you could roll onto a saving throw for a Con save RAW as a wizard, no manuals of health or blessings/boons from gods.

Nat 20 = +20

Con Max 20 = +5

Proficiency in 20 = +6

Several other buffs may be employed to concentration checks because they save throws, like Bless and the Paladin’s Aura of Protection. Therefore that is another 1d4 and 5, I think. And perhaps Bardic Inspiration too. And there is just so much focus you can have while manipulating complicated stuff, like the fabric of this universe.

Concentration is the mechanical check for this particular idea.

Concentration is necessary for most spells in D&D 5e spanning longer than one turn. But it’s not all-encompassing. Even though you’ve got a concentration to spell cast, you can still cast non-concentration spells, swing a sword, or have a conversation; pretty much everything you would typically be able to perform, except projecting more concentration spells.

The way I finally realized this idea was through analogy.

Imagine that to keep the spell working. Your character had to repeat the spell’s name in their mind constantly.

They can still do anything else. But that bout is always tickling the back of their mind. It always has to be a conscious attempt to keep up the spell’s effect.

However, that is just half the Concentration.

The other more nebulous aspect is that which frequently garners infamy: the concentration check.

Concentration Checks

Suppose you take damage or are suitably surprised (the next one is at your DM’s discretion). In that case, you’ll need to make a concentration check to prevent dropping the spell entirely.

There are three possible concentration checks:

Damage-centered concentration checks, where you need to roll up a Constitution Saving throw (so a d20+your Con modifier) vs. a DC of 10, or half the harm took, whichever is greater. Should you take damage from multiple sources, then roll a check from every.

Shock/Instability established concentration checks, where a few moving parts of your environment reasonably impedes your ability to focus. That is another Constitution check, this time with a flat DC 10.

Usually, it’s not tiny things like thunder or abrupt darkness (I say those two examples specifically because they are equally low-level spell effects). Still, it’s at your DM’s discretion.

Dying, obviously, or dropping to 0 HP and becoming incapacitated both drop concentration.

But so attempts to cast another concentration spell.

Concentration spell

If a spell has the duration of “concentration,” you are placing a lot of your attention into it. It’s possible to finish a Concentration effect at any time before the recorded duration, should you desire.

Despite your focus, it’s still possible to cast Magic or attack with a weapon while Concentrating. There are three listed effects in the fundamental Rules that end a Concentration effect.

Casting another concentration spell finishes the initial concentration spell. You can not have two moving concurrently.

If you take damage when concentrating, you must roll a Constitution saving throw (DC 10 or half the harm taken, whichever is higher). In the event you fail, you lose Concentration. Should you take damage from several sources, you roll up separately though that’s rare in 5E. How unlucky you must be to have bombarded so much at precisely the exact moment!

If you’re incapacitated or immediately die, your Concentration ends. That one might be obvious.

Your DM can rule that specific other environmental effects cause you to break Concentration. For instance, if you are in a spinning hurricane, then a DM may say you want to concentrate and give you a DC 10 Constitution to conserve every round. Or, if you are being thrown between two giants while stuck in a barrel, your DM may rule that the save is DC 12. It’s up to this situation, indeed!

Any character with the Mage Slayer feat might induce a caster to make a Concentration check and a drawback.

The most frequent way to stop Concentration is with Stuns. Anything that Stuns or knocks you out immediately breaks Concentration. If a monster could cause paralysis, that can destroy your concentrating too!

Is War caster the most common feat for Concentration check 5e in d&d?

The most common feat for concentration checks is War Caster. War Caster gives you an advantage on Constitution saving throws for spells, on top of other enormous benefits. Accepting the Resilient effort for Constitution adds competence bonus to your Constitution saves; that’s a rescue most casters do not get access to!

Select few casting classes to have different approaches to help their Concentration. Wizards of the Conjuration and War Magic attention have abilities tailored around diminishing concentration checks (though I prefer War Mage).

The simplest and consistent way to think about this is to apply Damage Reduction to each Magic Missile in 5e or even the damage as a whole. Should you use DR separately, then a 5e Concentration check for every missile is warranted. Should you decide that a single DR applies to each of the harm of a Magic Missile attack, then one Concentration check 5e is justified. The key is to remain consistent.

There’s nothing in the game that reduces Force damage. In addition, Magic Missile says that every dart does its harm “concurrently,” meaning that every dart does the same injury. You roll 1d4+1 once. They all deal that variety of damage like an AoE.

Most Recent