Wrathful Smite 5e in D&D

0
50
Wrathful Smite 5e in D&D

Wrathful Smite 5e in D&D

In the fantasy role-playing game Dungeons & Dragons (D&D), Wrathful Smite is a 1st-level evocation spell that allows a character to imbue their weapon with divine energy and make a powerful attack. The Wrathful Smite spell is available in the 5th edition of D&D (also known as D&D 5e).

Here are the statistical details for the Wrathful Smite spell:

  • School: Evocation
  • Level: 1
  • Casting Time: 1 bonus action
  • Range: Self
  • Components: V
  • Duration: Concentration, up to 1 minute

When you cast the Wrathful Smite spell, you imbue your weapon with divine energy. The next time you hit a creature with a melee weapon attack during the spell’s duration, the attack deals an extra 1d6 psychic damage to the target, and the target must make a Wisdom saving throw. On a failed save, the target is also frightened of you until the end of your next turn.

How many times can you use wrathful smite?

The Wrathful Smite spell has a duration of concentration, up to 1 minute. This means that the spell remains in effect until the character’s concentration is broken, or until the duration of the spell expires. While the spell is in effect, the character can make multiple weapon attacks with their imbued weapon.

Each time the character hits a creature with a melee weapon attack while the Wrathful Smite spell is in effect, the attack deals an extra 1d6 psychic damage to the target and forces the target to make a Wisdom saving throw. On a failed save, the target is also frightened of the character until the end of their next turn.

The number of times that a character can use the Wrathful Smite spell is limited only by the duration of the spell and the character’s ability to maintain concentration. If the character’s concentration is broken, or if the duration of the spell expires, the spell ends and the character must choose to re-cast it in order to continue benefiting from its effects.

Is Wrathful smite a warlock spell?

The Wrathful Smite spell is not a spell that is specific to warlocks, and it is not found on the warlock spell list.

The Wrathful Smite spell is available to any character who can cast spells, including paladins, rangers, and clerics. It is also available to any character who has access to the evocation spell list through a class feature or a feat, such as the Arcane Trickster rogue or the Arcane Initiate feat.

Does wrathful smite use a spell slot?

Like all spells in D&D 5e, the Wrathful Smite spell uses a spell slot to cast. A spell slot is a finite resource that represents the character’s ability to cast spells. Each character has a number of spell slots of each level, and they must expend one of these slots to cast a spell of that level.

For example, if a character has a 1st-level spell slot available, they can use it to cast the Wrathful Smite spell. Once the spell has been cast, the character’s 1st-level spell slot is expended and cannot be used again until the character has had a chance to rest and recover their spell slots.

Can I use wrathful smite and divine smite?

It is possible for a character to use both the Wrathful Smite and Divine Smite spells in the same round, but they cannot stack the effects of the two spells. This means that the character cannot combine the extra damage dealt by both spells when making a single attack.

If a character uses both spells in the same round, they must choose which spell’s effect to apply to their attack. The character cannot apply the effects of both spells to the same attack.