Does Wand of magic missile 5e dnd spell need attunement?

Wand of magic missile 5e

Does Wand of magic missile 5e need attunement in dnd?

The Wand of Magic Missile in 5e doesn’t appear to require attunement, not as much attunement by a spellcaster. Yes, non-spellcasters should be able to fire a magic missile with that 5e wand. The same seems to be accurate of the Wand of Magic Detection, also Wand of Keys. However, the Wand of Enemy Detection and the Wand of Fear do demand attunement but have no prerequisite. From 13 wands, it appears that three don’t need attunement in any way, and two can become attuned to anybody.

On a general note, the section on attunement (DMG p136) states the following. Some magic items require a monster to bond with them until the use of their magical properties. This bond is called attunement. And specific things have a prerequisite for it. Suppose the course is a spellcasting class. A monster appears if this creature has spell slots and uses that course’s spell list. If the prerequisite is a class, an animal must be a member of that course to attune to the merchandise. That appears to indicate that unless your requirement is specified to have the ability to attune with the item, then everyone can accomplish this.

Ring of Spell Storing 5e
Ring of Spell Storing 5e

Another instance of spellcasting’ thing that anyone can attune to/with is the Ring of Spell Storing 5e (DMG p192). Suppose a magical something requires attunement but does not specify that it should be by any classes or a spellcaster. In that case, it may be conducive to any creature to requires attunement. Suppose a magical item has specific attunement requirements, like a spellcaster or courses. In that case, it is said (in parentheses) and may only be attuned to a creature that meets those specific requirements.

  • It requires attunement with a spellcaster
  • .Or it requires attunement by a bard, cleric, or druid. 

If a magical item doesn’t require attunement in any way, it may be employed by anyone. That is the way it’s meant to operate. It functions as intended unless official errata comes out and states differently. To back up these claims we have page 136 of those DMG.

See also  Clairvoyance 5e dnd | All you need to know 2021

Read Chessex Dice


Some magic items demand a creature to bond with them until the use of their magical properties. This bond is called attunement, and specific items have a necessity for this. If the requirement is a course, a monster must be a member of that class to attune to the merchandise. So if we look at the Wand of Magic Missile 5e, it doesn’t require attunement whatsoever so it could be picked up and used by anyone at any time so long as it has fees left.

Wand of magic missile 5e

If we look at the Wand of Enemy Detection, it needs attunement. Still, it does not specify that it needs to be with a spellcaster to be attuned and utilized by anyone creature. And when we take a look at the Wand of Fireballs, it requires attunement, and it’s specified that it should be by a spellcaster. Therefore, it can be attuned and used by a spellcaster.

Wand of magic missile 5e dnd spell

While holding it, you can use an action to expend one or more of its Charges to cast the Magic Missile spell from it. For one fee, you throw the 1st-level version of the spell. You can boost the spell slot level by one for every additional charge you expend. The wand regains 1d6 + 1 paid Charges daily at dawn. On a 1, the wand crumbles into ashes and is ruined.

  • Adventuring gear (wand)
  • Category: Items
  • Item Rarity: Uncommon

Does the Wand of Magic Missile 5e completely overpower the d&d Magic Missile spell?

The Wand of Magic Missile in 5e does the same thing as the magic missile spell. Except it can cast more than irrelevant lower-level wizards can. Now, you might understand that magic missile is moot (except against multiple low-health enemies). Besides, if you use up all of the charges and roll a one on the subsequent d20 roll, it destroys. So, does this balance it out? Maybe not. Or do this prove the magic missile spell unworthy?

See also  Why Are PS4 Controllers Sold Out?

Could a Tiny Servant utilize a 5e Wand of Magic Missile?

The monster animated by a tiny servant is a creature. The spell places no limitations on the type of action it could take, or be controlled to take. As a bonus activity, you’re able to command the monster if it is within 120 feet mentally. You decide what action the creature will take and where it will proceed during its second turn. Thus, it can utilize any overall magic items, including a wand of magic missiles.

Attunement 5e

For other magical things, a tiny servant can also attune to (around three) magical items. But not ones that have prerequisites (such as being a spellcaster) do not fulfil (like the wand of fireballs). It’s also restricted by its carrying capacity for a Tiny monster with a Power of 4 is 30 pound. However, this isn’t a problem for most items. So it can use the wand of Magic Missile in 5e.