Can Aura of Protection 5e Affect Allies’ Death Saving Throw for a Paladin?
Back in D&D 5e, the Paladin attribute Aura of Protection 5e allows allies within 10 feet of you. It includes your charisma modifier as a bonus to their saving throws, as long as you are conscious. Indeed, this incentive would not affect the Paladin’s Death saves since they are unconscious while they make them. Nevertheless, a death-saving throw does not use any skills or proficiencies and can be determined by rolling a d20. Suppose the roll is ten or greater, then you triumph. Otherwise, you neglect.
Would the 5e Aura of Protection’s incentive be added to the death-saving throws of creatures that are affected? Or would the character and specific phrasing of Death save dictating the roll should be ten or greater overrule Aura of Protection’s widespread application to all saves?
If the bonus is inserted, would it be correct to say that it does not have any bearing on the results connected with rolling a 1 or 20 on a death save, meaning those would remain tied to the amount on the die just?
Let’s examine whether 5e Aura of Protection Affect Allies’ Death Saving Throws for a Paladin.
A Death Save is a save bonus to “all save” apply to them too. The same as a Monk gaining proficiency in “all saves” means they also use their proficiency incentive to Death Saves again starting at Level 14.
The intent of this wording for Death Saves seems to make them particular. Still, it is merely from the fact your proficiency bonus is not added, nor are they tied to a specific ability. Monks gain it much later. Other rewards applying to all saves, such as the Paladin’s ability and Rings/Cloaks of Protection, will use to them as usual.
PHB p. 197
You’re in the hands of destiny today, aided only by spells and features that improve your chances of success on a saving throw. Usually, a standard 1 isn’t a failure for a saving throw. Nevertheless, the more specific vocabulary for Death Saves trumps this. Thus, even if you finally have a +9 to Death frees, you will still suffer two failures unless you have any other mitigating factor. Such as something that automatically stabilizes you. All this aim is substantiated by Jeremy Crawford (thanks @NautArch): “Aura of Protection 5e advantages saving throws”.
The D&D basic rules page. 76 states the following (emphasis added)
When you begin your turn with 0 hit points, you have to make a unique saving throw, referred to as a death saving throw. It is to determine if you creep closer to Death or hang onto life. Contrary to other saving throws, this one isn’t tied to any ability score. You’re in control of destiny today. It aids only by spells and features that improve your odds of success on a saving throw.
The death saving throw is a saving throw, and the aura is a feature that applies to all saving throws. When you make a death-saving throw and roll a one on the d20, it counts as two failures. Therefore, the specific effects of getting a natural 1 or 20 relating to the number shown on the die. Thus, it is right to state that any bonuses from attributes or spells do not influence these two results.
Summary: Aura of protection 5e
The Aura of Protection 5e in dnd characteristic states, “You ought to be conscious of giving this bonus.”
The rules on death-saving throws say the following. At any time you start your turn with 0 hit points, you have to make a unique saving throw, called a death saving throw, to ascertain whether you creep nearer to Death or hang onto life. Unlike other saving throws, this one isn’t tied to any ability score. You are in the hands of fate now, aided only by spells and characteristics that improve your odds of success on a saving throw.
As you can see, Aura of Protection 5e rewards all saving throws by creatures inside your aura when you’re conscious. Death saving throws are indeed saving throws. Therefore, Aura of Protection advantages any death-saving throws made by other animals inside your atmosphere. (As you notice, it can not usually apply on your own, as you’re unconscious while at 0 hit points.)