Double bladed scimitar 5e feat Fineness weapon special bonus attack

Double bladed scimitar 5e feat

Double bladed scimitar feat 5e

The double-bladed scimitar in 5e feat is the signature weapon of Valenar elves. A haft of wood supports a long, curved blade on each end. Forged with techniques honed over centuries, these blades are strong, sharp, and remarkably light. Every scimitar is a masterpiece. Consequently, the double-bladed scimitar is an expensive weapon (100 gp) — few though having the chance to buy one. A Valenar blade in 5e at the hands of a non-elf is usually assumed to have been stolen or looted from a fallen foe, along with a Valenar elf might feel entitled to demand its return or challenge the bearer to prove they’re worthy to wield it.

Special: Suppose you strike with a double-bladed scimitar as a portion of the Strike action in turn. In that case, you may use a bonus action immediately following to make a melee attack with it. This strike deals 1d4 slashing damage on a hit rather than 2d4.

Does the double-bladed scimitar 5e ‘s special attack allow you to utilize your ability modifier for the harm of the attack?

You can add your ability modifier to harm from the bonus actions attack. The general rule for harm rolls would be the following. When attacking with a weapon, you put in your ability modifier–precisely the same modifier used for the attack roll–to the harm. Therefore, you can add your ability modifier here since nothing tells you that you can’t. Unofficial advice from Jeremy Crawford (5e’s lead rules designer), which some might consider definitive, agrees with this interpretation.

Fineness weapon

“When making a weapon attack, you add your ability modifier to the damage, unless your feature tells you not to.”

See also  Is Bitskins Safe And Trusted?

But, does this rule for two-weapon fighting, which also grants a bonus-action attack, confuse matters? You do not add your ability modifier to the bonus attack’s damage unless this modifier is negative. Wielding a 5e double-bladed scimitar isn’t the same as two-weapon fighting. Consequently, two-weapon fighting rules are utterly irrelevant to your situation. Insert your ability modifier to damage rolls as you would with any regular melee weapon attack – your damage roll with this bonus activity will be 2d4 +.

The text of Wayfinder’s Guide to Eberron got an update with the release of Eberron: Rising in the Last War. Credit to V2Blast for pointing out these changes.

Changes in the Double-Bladed Scimitar 5e (marginally ) and the Revenant Blade feat (substantially).

The underlying question here is untouched by these changes – it’s still possible to put in your ability modifier to hurt you handle all the (reworded) special bonus actions attack the Double-Bladed Scimitar 5e grants. On the other hand, the right harm would now be’1d4 + modifier’, as opposed to’2d4 + modifier’, as the Revenant Blade feat no longer grants excess damage due to the assault.

Uses of Double bladed Scimitar feat in 5e

In Dungeons and Dragons lore, the double-bladed scimitar is nearly exclusively employed by the aforementioned Valenar elves and very rare to see wielded with a non-elf. Some overzealous elves might even assume that the weapon has been stolen or otherwise obtained through nefarious methods, moving as far as to attack or challenge any non-elves who possess one. That being said, the double-bladed scimitar’s mild profile and reliable damage make it a strong choice irrespective of race.

It ends up that the double-bladed scimitar 5e feat is a smart choice for just about any class as well. Although the weapon needs two hands to use, it doesn’t count as a heavy weapon. Players of any dimension may use it without fearing a nasty penalty. Double-bladed scimitars use 2D4 for damage, placing it right around the potential harm of a longsword or battleax, but with a minimum of 2 rather than 1. That is pretty good, but a part of what makes this weapon so great is that you may do some other 1D4 damage with bonus actions. It’s like duel-wielding without any of those annoying rules.

See also  Pathfinder damage dice progression chart & calculations explained


There’s also the Revenant Blade Feat for any Elf players or anyone using a lenient DM. The Feat permits the personality three boons: The character may include 1 to 2 Strength or Dexterity. The character gains +1 AC when wielding a double-bladed weapon. As soon as the character wields a double-bladed scimitar, it is thought to have the trait finesse.

Type Martial Melee Weapon
Cost 100 gp
Damage 2d4 slashing
Weight 6 lbs
Properties Special, Two-Handed

The first two advantages are relatively straightforward; a rise to some favorite stat and a boost in protection is welcome. The third attribute that grants finesse, however, is a hidden gem. Finesse allows the user to choose between using either their Strength or Dexterity modifier for assault and damage rolls. This Feat introduces a tremendous amount of flexibility for different types of characters. Coupled with all the other bonuses, any surface with a decent Strength or Dexterity can make the most out of the double-bladed scimitar.

Even though Dungeons and Dragons offer players almost any weapon they can envision, few can provide a personality with flexibility and raw power as the double-bladed scimitar. If you are playing an Elf and your effort comprises Eberron’s content, enjoy your new preferred weapon. For everybody else, make an excellent case for your DM.