Is Quinoa Gluten free?
Quinoa, which is actually a plant native to South America, is one of the healthier varieties of grains you’ll find on the market today. It is also a very popular choice among those trying to stay on a gluten free diet as well. Quinoa is gluten free and a magic ingredient
Whole grains are a great source of essential nutrients and dietary fibre. Unfortunately, many whole grains naturally contain gluten, which is generally a no-no for those with Celiac disease and those following the gluten-free diet. As long as you cannot eat grains such as wheat, barley, rye, and oats, that doesn’t necessarily mean, though, that you cannot eat grains at all, and here comes the magic ingredient Quinoa, the gluten-free source of nutrition!
The question: Is quinoa gluten free
The biggest question you may have, ” is quinoa gluten free “? So how do you know if quinoa has gluten? Is quinoa gluten-free, or are you better off avoiding it altogether? Gluten is made up of a protein found in wheat, rye, barley, as well as oats. Gluten is often added to food products as a stabilizer, to help the food to retain its shape, keep its colour, and keep the product from absorbing too much water. When people who consume processed food products that include gluten notice that the foods do not seem as they should be or have a strange aftertaste, they may have a sensitivity to gluten. For example, some people react to gluten when eating chocolate, which is a known allergen for those suffering from Celiac disease.
There are many reasons why you might have a problem with gluten, but most doctors would tell you that a common reason for it is the presence of refined grains in your diet. Quinoa is one of the healthy grains that are high in fiber, so it’s one of the best choices if you’re trying to stay on a gluten-free diet like rice. In fact, if you eat enough quinoa, you may never have a deficiency of iron, copper, fiber, thiamin, protein, and vitamin B6
Where to buy quinoa?
While it is possible to avoid wheat and gluten by purchasing quinoa from a co-op, you can make sure that the quinoa you purchase is as pure and natural as possible. By paying attention to the grains themselves, and the packaging that is included with the product, you are assured that you are buying the healthiest food possible. Generally found in 2 colours red and black, there are some factory make varieties which can also be a good alternative like flakes, powder, puff, tricolour, and quinoa flour ( not to be confused with wheat flour )
Though already proven, the seeds in quinoa grains are rich in nutrients, especially protein and fiber recent discovery has revealed that many people eating quinoa regularly has increased their energy levels, especially in the morning, and helped them feel fuller for longer. Also, quinoa grains that are also gluten free, are a great source of magnesium. If you are looking to reduce the risk of developing osteoporosis, there are several studies that show that magnesium is essential for bone health and for preventing age-related problems. You may also want to try eating seeds like these if you suffer from arthritis because it can help to alleviate joint pain.
Quinoa grains are also known to have anti-inflammatory effects, as well as a number of anti-cancer and anti-oxidant properties. Since it is very nutritious, it is also rich in anti-viral nutrients, which helps to remove toxins from the body.
Quinoa grains are also loaded with omega 3 fatty acids. Omega-3 fatty acids are very beneficial for a variety of health conditions including joint pain, arthritis, depression, and diabetes.
Recipes are flourishing for quinoa in salads, fried rice, and protein shakes. 1000 years ago, it was known as “the mother grain” in Latin America by the Inca. This superfood quinoa today is one of the best sources of a Gluten-free diet. It is the best alternative to bread. So I think I have been able to answer your question, is quinoa gluten free ?
Summary: Is quinoa gluten free? Very healthy and well-tolerated by Gluten-sensitive people, Quinoa is completely gluten free. However please ensure to store quinoa far from flour and don’t mix any stock or broth with it, if you are unsure that if the stock or broth is thickened with flour.