How does 5e mage armor and shield work together in dnd?

5e mage armor and shield
5e mage armor and shield

In D&D, can I use a shield that has Mage armor 5e?

Mage Armor 5e and shield do stack well in d&d. Shields are not body armor. They can be used simultaneously with Mage Armor. However, it won’t cause Mage Armor to disappear. The Sage Advice column covers the specific question.

You can use a shield with mage armor. What is the best way to get started?

5e Mage armor Uses a shield. The Player’s Handbook lists shields as part of the equipment rules. However, different game features differentiate between armor and shields. To see the difference, take a look at Unarmored Defense features for monks and compare them to the barbarians. Suppose you want to take advantage of the feature in Monk’s version. In that case, you will need to forgo armor and shield, while a barbarian can only forgo armor.

Mage armor spell details in dnd

Touch a willing creature that isn’t wearing armor, and a magical protective force surrounds it until the spell ceases. The target’s AC base becomes 13 + the Dexterity modifier. If the target doesn’t wear armor, or if you disallow the spell as an act, the spell will end.

A shield grants an additional +2 bonus to AC and can be worn or discarded. Is the spell possible on someone who wears a shield, and how would it affect that person?

The equipment chapter includes a shield. It is not in the same category as light, medium, and heavy armor. Shields are listed separately from each light, medium, and heavy armor class in the classes section.

See also  How does the help action work 5e dnd? Is it bonus action in combat?

Also, PH page 14 Armor Class mentions wearing armor and carrying a sword several times. You wear armor and take a shield.

Sage Advice has frequently asked questions (currently 9.Apr.2016) and a section on determining AC.

These methods, along with others that provide a formula to calculate your AC, are mutually exclusive. You can only benefit from one of them.

Mage armor can be of benefit to a barbarian.

Your unarmored barbarian bonus does not apply to 5e mage armor. Mage armor is considered armor. It’s a scam when an inexplicably powerful entity comes in and offers godlike rewards for a few small favors.

Is it possible for a 5e warlock to get mage armor?

Except for the invocation, Warlocks do not get Mage armor. It’s not on their spell lists. It’s silly to waste a slot on the invocation. Light Armor is already available to you.

Can Mage armor be beneficial to 5e monks?

Mage armor has no weight. It is not natural armor. Unarmored Defense means freedom of movement for monks. So mage armor does not interfere with Unarmored Defence. Armor in 5e substitutes your base standard AC.

Put on padded? 11ac +dex.

Plate? 18AC, no dex added. Mage armor? 13ac + dex.

It is armor but requires no proficiency. The Monk gets to choose which he would rather have. You could argue that it would overwrite the standard monk armor (10+dex+wis), but the Monk could dismiss it as an action. Note that the 5e Monk and barbarian unarmored defense features don’t work together, either. The formula is what is written in the PH: 13 + Dex.

Amulet of Mage Armor

Rare with three charges per calendar day that require attunement. Mage armor is range touch and not range self. You can either cover yourself with three charges or spend those charges on your allies’ armor. The Ring of Jumping and the Hat of Disguise all have this ability. However, they also specify a range of self, if it isn’t already. Your item is not unique. Your item can be compared to a studded leather with +1. It is also rare and includes the Same AC at no additional cost.

See also  Best Multiclassing 5e spell slots, rules, saving throws guide dnd

It’s, therefore, an Uncommon item. It’s not a rare item, but I would be willing to pay a premium for it. There are also uncommon like Ring of Swimming and Ring of Warmth are below, while Immovable rod, Slippers of Spider Climbing, and Rind of Mind Shielding.

Suppose you are looking for an item that requires attunement. It allows you to cast Mage Armor upon yourself at will.

Do I get the AC bonus even if I cast mage armor? Does a shield count as armor in D&D 5E?

The armor section includes a description of a shield and references and armor, including access to and exit from the armor table. We also have reports of light armor and medium armor as well as heavy armor. Finally, there are separate categories for shields.

You can refer to three things: 

  1. the Barbarian’s unarmored Defense, 
  2. the Monk’s unarmored Defense, 
  3. and the Mage Armor 5e spell. 

You can only get the Barbarian’s Unarmored Defense benefit if you don’t wear armor. However, you can also gain the benefits of shielding. According to the Monk, you do not benefit if your shield or armor is not on you.

In both cases, shield and armor are treated separately. The Mage Armor spell mentions only armor and does not include a reference to shields. 

A shield is not considered separate from the Unarmored Defense armor because of similarity. You can use it with a shield.

Why would it not say this? The first is that the basic classes that have access to the Mage Armor spell don’t have shield proficiency, except for Hexblade Warlocks. Multi-classing or the feat system are the only ways to attain shield proficiency. Both provide medium armor proficiency. Medium armor is also available. With the same Dexterity (20), there is no better armor class than what medium armor offers (with the same Dexterity). You can also get magic armor. It means that even if you have a Dexterity of 20, you will still be able to get at least +1 armor. Perhaps those who wrote the spell descriptions didn’t consider all options.

See also  Mage Armor 5e dnd Spell | Heavy Improved Armor

A shield can be used as a general rule. That will increase your AC by +2. You can use the shield if there is a rule against it.

Sage Advice is finally available. Sage Advice, located under the Mage Armor 5e spell’s specific spell section, says you can. Sage Advice is an additional reason to accept Sage Advice as guidance from your DM.

Your DM is the final word. If the DM agrees, then you can. If the DM says no, it’s okay.