If I delete my Chegg account will my questions be deleted?
If you have decided to delete your Chegg account and you want to know if the questions you posted from that account will be deleted or not. In this article, we will tell you what will happen when you delete your Chegg account.
What is Chegg?
Before looking at how to delete a Chegg account or the specific and practical ways we can deactivate the Chegg account, we must look at what the company is all about, the kind of services it provides, and what the public has to say about it.
The company is an online platform that allows you to rent both digital and physical copies of textbooks, get tutoring services for your academic exercise, and other targeted services. Chegg is based in Santa Barbara, California. It is a public company established in 2005 and already has over 2 million subscribers as of March 2020. The company became a public traded company in the New York Stock Exchange in 2013.
Over time, the company came across heavy criticisms by academic community members on various occasions owing to some of their services that violate different codes that guide students and academicians alike. For instance, the file-sharing service is pointed as a clear violation of a series of academic regulations based on integrity. In addition, this file-sharing has led to a series of examination malpractice being carried out in the U.S during the COVID-19 era in 2020 by college students.
These students had access to the answers to their questions which were uploaded on Chegg. Affected institutions were Boston University, Washington University in St. Louis, and George Tech. Reports indicate that Chegg is cooperating with the investigations.
What happens when you delete your Chegg account?
When you delete your Chegg account, your personal information is removed permanently. In addition, whatever data is available in your account will be deleted permanently.
After this process, you will not be able to reactivate your chegg account. When your chegg account is deleted completely, then you will not be able to reactivate again.
If you want to use Chegg again, you will need to create another new account to use the application.
How long does Chegg take to delete your account?
Since it has not been mentioned anywhere on the official site of chegg, neither the chegg nor the exact time it takes for deleting the chegg account. Still, usually, it takes a week to a month. It depends on the method of applying for the deletion of the Chegg account. If you take the technique of filling the form and applying, it may take approximately a week.
But if you request via email, it may take up to a month, which is not fixed; it may get finished in a day also, but there is no specified time promised by Chegg. On the other hand, your chegg account can be deleted immediately without any issue if you request via live chat.
Does closing a Chegg account delete questions?
Chegg does not work like this. They give you the benefit of asking the question. Once that question has an answer, anybody with a Chegg Study Pack subscription can view that answer. It is for everyone. So, even if you delete your Chegg account, your questions will remain there and not be deleted. Chegg will not delete your questions if you delete your account as well.
Does deleting a Chegg account delete data?
Also, canceling lets you reactivate your subscription at any time. Deleting your information will remove your personal information from the Chegg site. All of the information in MyAccount will be deleted, and you’ll need to start a whole new account if you decide to use Chegg services again. When you choose to delete your Chegg account, your data, cookies, personal information, credit card information will be deleted with it. But remember, chegg will not delete your questions if you delete your account.
How to Delete a Chegg Account?
Unlike various services, Chegg doesn’t allow you to delete your account directly from the account settings. To delete a Chegg account, you have to request deletion from their customer service and wait for them to process your request. But before that, make sure you cancel all the subscriptions on your Chegg account to avoid any disruption during the deletion. There are many ways for Chegg data deletion requests to delete your Chegg account, which we have mentioned in this article. They are using the Chegg official website, sending email requests to the Chegg team, and submitting tickets to Chegg. So, these are the methods which we have introduced step by step each way.
So, you can follow any methods, whichever you want to follow, because all the procedures for deleting the Chegg account mentioned below will work. So, therefore, Let’s know.
Deleting from Chegg Website
Follow the below-mentioned steps on how to delete Chegg Account via the Chegg website
- Login to Chegg’s official site with your username and password.
- Close all pending transactions and active subscriptions, if any, by following the steps mentioned above.
- Go to My Account.
- Click on the ‘Chat Icon’ / ‘Contact Us’ button at the right-hand corner of the page, as shown in the below image.
- Click on ‘I want to close my account. ‘
- If you have any pending subscriptions, cancel them by clicking on ‘CANCEL MY SUBSCRIPTION. ‘ Else, proceed by clicking on ‘Chat with an advocate.’
- Answer the relevant question asked to you and state that you want to delete your Chegg Account.
Deleting Account via Email
- Log in to the email account that you have registered with Chegg. Remember, you can send an email with any account that you own. Make sure to include the details of your Chegg account in that email.
- You will need to compose an email and make it out to firstname.lastname@example.org or email@example.com.
- You can keep the Subject as “REQUEST FOR CHEGG ACCOUNT DELETION.“
- In the body section of the email, write about why you want to delete your account and request deletion. I have given a sample template below.
- Send this email, and you will be notified soon about your canceled subscription.
Deleting Chegg account using live chat
There is also a way to request to delete your Chegg account, and it is the fastest way to delete your account among every method. In this method, you need to message the Chegg team of any person in the live chat. Then, your account is deleted immediately as any person comes into the conversation.
In this way, you will need to follow some similar steps as we have mentioned through the website by filling form methods.
Follow the below procedure to know that how to delete a chegg account very fast using live chat:-
- Login to your chegg account and open my account by clicking on the profile option.
- Click on the communication tab and then click on the contact option.
- Click to the chat with an advocate option.
- Now, you will get an automated response. Still, later, a representative from Chegg will be connected to you with the help of that live chat.
So, message the representative to delete your chegg account, and then your chegg account will be deleted immediately. In this way, you have to communicate in the live chat and request the deletion.
Can I pause my account?
Go to your ‘Subscriptions and find the option of ‘Pause’ to put your account on hold for the time being. Pausing locks in your subscription price, you will not be charged while you’re paused, and you will find your bookmarks, Expert Q&A questions, and other account settings just the way you left them.
In this article, we talked about if chegg deletes your questions, you delete your Chegg account. Well, the answer is no, Chegg will display all of your questions even if your account is deleted, but it will remove your personal information and billing information off the record.
Suppose you want to delete your Chegg account. In that case, it might not be easy because you cannot cancel your subscription directly in settings. Still, there are multiple ways of doing it. You have to make sure to cancel all your subscriptions before deleting your account. You can delete your account by email, live chat, and from their website. Chegg also offers to pause your account where you can lock your subscription price to put your account on hold for the time being. You will also be able to find your bookmarks, Expert Q&A questions, and other account settings just the way you left them.