6 Levels of Exhaustion 5e in D&D & tricks you did not know before

Levels of Exhaustion 5e

Why is it important to understand the levels of Exhaustion 5e in dnd?

In dnd 5e, Exhaustion is an abyss of despair for players. Suppose you start going down, iti s because you planned poorly, or the DM requires you to die and not in any legend, fun, or fantastic way. Your out of food and drink out any spells to make it or the ability to get it. So there are few levels of Exhaustion 5e. Also there are ability checks.

 The checks you need to gather food without specific spells are already at a disadvantage from the get-go. The speed drop at stage 2 is just an insult to injury. It allows you to be easily kited by intelligent monsters. Stage 3 is going to be a kicker, as now your rogues can’t sneak attack.

Everyone will be worse off (except for casters with a lot of save spells). 4 hurts everyone as well (not necessarily equally, looking at you, CON is a dump stat wizards) with its half HP. If you didn’t find food for five days, you are lost because now your speed is 0, you cannot move. You could misty step/other teleport spells around, but that’s going to run out quickly. The next day you die.

What is Exhaustion 5e?

Exhaustion 5e is a condition. These Conditions alter a creature’s capabilities in various ways. They can arise due to a spell, a class feature, a monster’s Attack, or other Effect. Most Conditions, such as blindness, are impairments, but a few, such as invisible, can be advantageous.

A condition lasts either until it is countered (the prone condition is countered by standing up, for example) or for a duration specified by the Effect that imposed the condition.

See also  How does CoDzilla work in DnD & Pathfinder?

Suppose multiple Effects impose the same condition on a creature. In that case, each instance of the condition has its Duration, but its effects don’t worsen. A creature either has a condition or doesn’t.

The following definitions specify what happens to a creature while it is subjected to a condition.


Some Special Abilities and Environmental Hazards, such as starvation and the long-­term Effects of freezing or scorching temperatures, can lead to a Special condition called Exhaustion in dnd 5e. Exhaustion is measured in six levels. An effect can give a creature one or more levels of 5e Exhaustion, as specified in the Effect’s description. There are six levels of Exhaustion 5e.

Level Effect
1 Disadvantage on Ability Checks
2 Speed halved
3 Disadvantage on Attack Rolls and Saving Throws
4 Hit point maximum halved
5 Speed reduced to 0
6 Death

If an already exhausted creature suffers another effect that causes exhaustion, its current level of exhaustion increases by the amount specified in the Effect’s description.

A creature suffers the effect of its current level of Exhaustion as well as all lower levels. For example, a creature suffering level 2 exhaustion has its speed halved and has a disadvantage on Ability Checks.

An Effect that removes Exhaustion reduces its level as specified in the Effect’s description, with all exhaustion Effects Ending if a creature’s exhaustion level is reduced below 1.

Finishing a Long Rest reduces a creature’s exhaustion level by 1, provided that the creature has also ingested some food and drink.

Levels of Exhaustion 5e explained.

At level 1 exhaustion, a 5e creature has a disadvantage on ability checks. The physical abilities of the contemporary shape are used at a disadvantage, of course. Changing shape may change abilities but not Exhaustion. Those changing abilities check along with disadvantage until Exhaustion is relieved with rest, greater restoration magic, or vitality magic.

At level 2, Exhaustion, speed (all speed regardless of shifting form) is halved. The exhausted creature must be carried by someone or something else to avoid this penalty.

See also  If God Died, How Could He Have Died?

At level 3, disadvantage also applies to all attacks and saving throws.

At level 4the maximum hit points (also known as average hp if you aren’t rolling hit dice for creatures) of the creature are halved. Changing form may change your hit points (for better or worse), but they’ll be half of the max when fully healed – no matter what form.

Level 5, your speed is 0. No matter the form, it is not moving.

Level 6, death. Of course, a dead creature is not a creature anymore, so no more shapeshifting.

Level of Exhaustion 5e chart