Polearm 5e in D&D

Polearm 5e

Polearm 5e in D&D

In the fantasy role-playing game Dungeons & Dragons (D&D), a polearm is a type of weapon that consists of a long shaft with a blade or other striking head attached to one end. Polearms are typically used to attack opponents at a distance, and they are often wielded by characters who specialize in fighting with reach weapons.

In the 5th edition of D&D (also known as D&D 5e), there are several different types of polearms that a character can use, each with its own unique characteristics and abilities. Here are the statistical details for some common polearms that are available in D&D 5e:

  • Glaive: This is a long, curved blade attached to a pole. It is a versatile weapon that can be used to attack and defend.
    • Damage: 1d10 slashing
    • Properties: Heavy, reach, two-handed
  • Halberd: This is a pole weapon with a large, double-edged axe head and a spear point on the opposite end. It is effective at both cutting and thrusting.
    • Damage: 1d10 slashing
    • Properties: Heavy, reach, two-handed
  • Lance: This is a long, heavy spear that is used for charging attacks. It is effective at piercing through armor.
    • Damage: 1d12 piercing
    • Properties: Reach, special (see below)
  • Quarterstaff: This is a simple wooden staff that can be used for both striking and parrying. It is a popular weapon for monks and other characters who prefer a more defensive fighting style.
    • Damage: 1d6 bludgeoning
    • Properties: Versatile (1d8)
  • Pike: This is a long, heavy spear with a sharp point that is designed for thrusting. It is effective at reaching and piercing through armor.
    • Damage: 1d10 piercing
    • Properties: Heavy, reach, two-handed

Note: The “special” property for the lance means that it has the following additional rules:

  • When you are mounted and use a lance, you have advantage on the attack roll.
  • When you use a lance, you have disadvantage on the attack roll unless you are mounted.
See also  What is dexterity saving throw 5e for Barbarian in dnd?