Turn Undead 5e Channel Divinity for Paladin & Cleric dnd

Turn Undead 5e

Turn Undead 5e Channel Divinity d&d

Nearly all clerics can channel the divinity of turn undead 5e. A cleric can cast turn undead, which means that any undead in a five-foot radius of the area is pushed back at least 15 feet. It depends on how strong the personality of the Cleric is. The blast can temporarily paralyze or render undead permanently blinded.

A turned creature must take turns moving as far as possible away from you. It can’t move within 30 feet of you. It can also not take Reactions. It can only use the Dash action to take action. The Cleric can make undead attack instead of attacking usually. If he can turn undead, the Cleric may roll on the table. If the roll succeeds, 2d6 hit undead dice will flee. You can turn undead as many times as you wish.

Channel Divinity

Channel Divinity is not about casting a spell or attacking the undead. You can channel divine energy directly through your deity at the 2nd level. This energy can be helpful to create magical effects. You can also present your holy symbol to the undead and offer a prayer for them. Every undead within 30 feet must make a Wisdom saving throw. Channel Divinity does not require you to cast a spell. It would be casting spells if it did. The rules would state that “Using this feature allows for you to cast many things.” However, as per The Player’s Handbook, page 202, No matter the class of the character casting any spell, the basic rules apply regardless.

The spell description starts with information about the spell, such as its name, level, school, range, components, and duration. The spell’s effect is described in the rest of the spell entry. Casting a spell is not mentioned in the class feature description. The description of Channel Divinity does not contain any of this information. It is not an official ruling, but Jeremy Crawford, D&D’s lead rules designer, was asked about it:

See also  What is the cost of Saddle of the Cavalier 5e in dnd?

Is Dispel Magic 5e able to work with Channel Divinity powers or Dispel Magic?

He also tweeted that:

  • Channel Divinity is not a spell.
  • Channel Divinity isn’t an attack.

If it were an attack, the description would read “make an attack roll” (or “make a spell attack rolls”).

5e Channel Divinity
5e Channel Divinity

The Player’s Handbook, page 194:

If you are unsure whether an action you take counts as an attack or not, it is easy to remember that an attack is a roll of attack dice. Your DM can decide. Your DM may be able to help you with this part of the Turn Undead function’s description: You present your holy symbol and pray to rebuke the undead. This action is primarily defensive. It might be logical that the sanctuary is not broken.

Perhaps it’s simply a request for help. Maybe it’s not you who acts, but your deity. This power is channeled through you, and you are only a vessel. Perhaps the sanctuary is safe because you didn’t take any direct offensive actions. Your group may agree that this isn’t logical and that it violates sanctuary. Your DM will be the one to tell the story.

What does Turn undead 5e do for Paladin?

Paladins don’t get Turn Undead 5e until Level 4. Resetting your enhancements is easy. It only costs some platinum. If you want to turn undead on a Paladin, it won’t work well. Extra turn undead from the Knight of the Chalice Tree is the best tier-one enhancement. In tier two, you can take Divine Might. The number of turn undead charges that you have determines how many times you can use it.

Cleric Destroy undead 5e Feature

Channel Divinity: Turn Undead: Every undead who can hear or see you within 30 feet must make a Wisdom saving throw. The creature is turned for one minute or until it takes damage if it fails to make a saving throw.

See also  Best Monk Weapons 5e & dnd FAQ to build your spell
Cleric Level Destroy Undead of CR
5 1/2 or lower
8 1 or lower
11 2 or lower
14 3 or lower
17 4 or lower

If the creature succeeds in its saving throw, it will remain unaffected. Displace the undead. At the 5th level, if an undead fails to save against your Turn Undead feature, the creature is immediately destroyed. The creature is unaffected if it passes its saving throw. Only the undead can move away or be destroyed if they fail to make a saving throw.


Four zombies (CR 3) and a wight are close to the level 5 cleric. The Cleric turns undead. For illustration purposes, each of the five players will roll their saving throw (let’s call it DC 13). Two zombies roll 5, 9, 17, 13 so that two of them are destroyed, and two remain unaffected. They keep coming back, moaning, “Brains!” The Wight rolls an 11. The Wight rolls an 11. The Wight would have been destroyed if the Cleric had been level 14.

What does Turn Undead mean for 5e Clerics?

It is the most basic spell a cleric could have.

  1. It is a Cleric’s right, regardless of what Domain (Divine or Life) they choose.
  2. The Cleric cannot use it from the 1st through 5th levels unless they have completed a brief rest (1 hour). They can use it twice within the same time at the 6th level.
  3. EachUnabled must make a Wisdom saving throw against the spell save DC (p.58). I.e.
  4. Spell save DC = 8, + your proficiency bonus + Your Wisdom modifier
  5. It applies to all undead within 30 feet.

Wisdom saving throw

  • Monster has a Wisdom of 10 => +0
  • Level 4 Clergy has a Spell Save DC of 8 + 2 (+prof bonus) + 3. (Wisdom =16)
  • 1st Monster rolls >12 + 0. (wisdom modifier). => Failed and must move away
  • 2nd monster rolls >13 + 0, (wisdom modifier). => Success and does not need to move away
See also  Explaining Undead Fortitude 5e | Dnd Zombie

As a DM, you have to ask yourself: Would all undead people be within 30 feet of the Cleric’s reach? If the answer is yes, then the majority of undead will be turned. That means that approximately 6 out of 10 people will vote for it. 6 of 10?

The monster will also be turned (i.e., The beast will attempt to flee for 1 minute (i.e., ten turns) OR until it takes damage.

A cleric can make undead instead of attacking usually. If he can turn undead, the Cleric may roll on the table. If the roll succeeds, 2d6 hit undead dice will flee. You can turn undead as many times as you wish per encounter and per day.

D&D used the initiative to roll a d6 across the entire group. There is no special initiative rule that allows you to turn undead. No matter what you do, it would be best if you acted when you are ready.